• Meet the Team - Transplantation

    The Department of Transplantation is led by Elizabeth Pomfret, MD, PhD, FACS. Dr. Pomfret has extensive experience in transplantation, particularly in the development of adult- to-adult live donor liver transplantation. She performed the first procedure of this kind in New England in 1998 and has served on various national and international committees charged with establishing policies and standards in this field. The transplant team at Lahey is made up of experts in their respective fields who have extensive experience with the transplant patient population.

    The team is committed to providing superior care to patients during each phase of the transplant process, including evaluation, preoperative and postoperative care as well as long-term follow up.

    Transplant Surgeons
    Transplant Hepatologists 
    Transplant Coordinators
    Transplant Social Workers
    Transplant Financial Coordinators  

    Transplant Surgeons

    The transplant surgeons at Lahey Clinic are board certified and have extensive experience in all aspects of the surgical care of transplant patients. They also manage immunosuppressive medication following transplantation and monitor patients for the development of rejection. The transplant surgeons work collaboratively with other members of the transplant team and enlist their expertise when appropriate. 

    The surgeons also perform non-transplant hepatobiliary surgery and general surgery in transplant patients.

     Elizabeth Pomfret, MD, PhD, FACS 
     Chair, Department of Transplantation
     Professor of Surgery, Tufts University

     Roger Jenkins, MD, FACS
     Chief, Division of Surgery
     Professor of Surgery, Tufts University

     James Pomposelli, MD, PhD, FACS
     Surgical Director, Transplantation
     Associate Professor of Surgery, Tufts University

     Khalid Khwaja, MD, FACS
     Surgical Director, Kidney/Pancreas Transplantation
     Assistant Professor of Surgery, Tufts University

     W. David Lewis, MD, FACS 
     Senior Staff Surgeon
     Associate Professor of Surgery, Tufts University

     Mohamed Akoad, MD
     Senior Staff Surgeon
     Assistant Professor of Surgery, Tufts University

     Andrea Sorcini, MD
     Senior Staff Surgeon

     David Axelrod, MD

    Transplant Hepatologists

    Transplant hepatologists are physicians who specialize in liver disease both before and after liver transplantation. Our hepatologists are experts in the treatment of pre and post-transplant hepatitis B and C, autoimmune liver diseases as well as hereditary liver diseases. In addition, they perform liver biopsies and procedures to ensure that bile ducts are functioning properly. Our hepatologists also specialize in the management of complications associated with immunosupppression.

    Fredric Gordon, MD
    Medical Director, Liver Transplantation
    Director of Hepatology
    Assistant Professor of Medicine, Tufts University

    Stephen Fabry, MD
    Senior Staff Hepatologist
    Assistant Professor of Medicine, Tufts University

     Amy Tien, MD
    Senior Staff Hepatologist
    Assistant Professor of Medicine, Tufts University

    Amir A. Qamar, MD
    Senior Staff Hepatologist 

    Andreana Kosinski, PA-C

    Transplant Nephrologists

    Transplant nephrologists are physicians who specialize in kidney disease both before and after kidney transplantation. They are experts in managing hypertension and regulating fluid retention. Transplant nephrologists also specialize in immunosuppression management and the complications associated with renal failure and kidney transplantation. 

    Hannah Gilligan, MD
    Senior Staff Nephrologist
    Medical Director, Kidney Transplantation

    Monica Grafals, MD
    Senior Staff Nephrologist
    Medical Director, Pancreas Transplantation
    Assisstant Professor of Medicine, Tufts University

    Kristen Bilodeau, MSN, ANP

    Donor Medical Evaluation

    David L. Burns, MD, CNSP
    Senior Staff Gastroenterologist

    Kalyani Murthy, MD
    Primary Care
    Kristen M. Robson, MD
    Senior Staff Gastroenterologist

    Transplant Coordinators

    Nurse coordinators are responsible for providing nursing care, education and support to transplant candidates, patients active on the transplant waiting list and post-transplant patients, both in the hospital and in the community. Patient, family, live donor and nursing colleague education is an integral part of the transplant nurse coordinator's role.

    Denise Morin, MSN, RN - Senior Transplant Coordinator
    Living Donor Nurse Coordinator  

    Kristen Bilodeau, MSN, ANP
    Post-transplant Kidney Coordinator

    Monica Callahan, BSN, RN
    Pre-transplant Liver Coordinator

    Sheila Coombs, ASN, RN
    Post-transplant Liver Coordinator

    Pauline Goucher, BSN, RN
    Post-transplant Liver Coordinator

    Brenda Reed, MSN, RN
    Pre-transplant Kidney Coordinator

    Paula Zannella, BSN, RN
    Pre-transplant Liver Coordinator

    Administrative Director

    Robert Shea, MS

    Transplant Quality Manager

    M. Anne Tellier


    Maryann Simpson, PhD
    Director, Clinical Research

    Agnes Trabucco, BS, MTASCP
    Clinical Study Coordinator

    Katherine Hamill

    Transplant Nutrition

    Rebecca Bradley, RD
    Julie Mullane, RD

    Transplant Pharmacy

    Kelly DePiero, PharmD

    Transplant Social Workers

    Eric Richman, MSW, LICSW
    Merle Kushner, MSW, LICSW
    Jonathan M. Metcalf, MSW, LICSW

    Independent Living Donor Advocate

    Jonathan M. Metcalf, MSW, LICSW

    Transplant Financial Coordinators

    Patricia Hogan
    Daryl Battin, MSW, LICSW

    Database Managers

    Karen Jeter, BS
    Cathy Taylor

    Administrative Staff

    Robert Burns
    Julie Doyle
    Lynn Huot
    Erick Marangos
    Maria Pelrine 
    Tina Schuurman
    Evelyn Soeun 
    Patricia Young


    Many members of the Department of Anesthesia participate in the care of liver transplant donors and recipients. Their activities are coordinated by the chair and vice chair of the department.

    Sana Ata, MD 
    Chair, Department of Anesthesia

    Carl Borromeo, MD
    Transplant Anesthesiologist

    Infectious Disease

    Eva Piessens, MD, MPH   


    Andrea Seek, MD  

    Blood Bank

    Kurt Heim, MD, PhD 
    Director, Blood Bank


    Urmila Khettry, MD 


     Suma Thomas, MD 


    Christoph Wald, MD, PhD
    Christopher Scheirey, MD
    Christopher Molgaard, MD

  • Make An Appointment

    (781) 744-2500
  • HRSA Award

    Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Awards Lahey Clinic the Silver1 Medal of Honor for Organ Donation.