Professional Practice Model

The Lahey Clinic (LC) Professional Practice Model (PPM) was developed, implemented, and evaluated based on the Massachusetts Nurse Practice Act: Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 112, Sections 74-81, "Registration of Nurses"; the Code of Massachusetts Rules and Regulations Governing Nursing Practice CMR 244; and the American Nurses Association (ANA) Standards of Nursing Practice: 6 Standards of Practice and 9 Standards of Professional Performance.

The model was developed after extensive review of the literature incorporating the theoretical framework of "Theory of Caring," by Kristen M. Swanson, RN, PhD, FAAN and "The Novice to Expert" model by Patricia Benner, PhD, RN, FAAN, FRCN and utilizing work from Hoffart and Wood (1996), Wolf and Greenhouse (2007), and Relationship Based Care: A Model for Transforming Practice, Koloroutis (2004). The incorporation of LC's organizational core values of compassion and openness, unsurpassed expertise, and a drive for continuous learning and improvement, and LC's guiding principles of respect, caring, teamwork, excellence, and commitment to personal best informed the development of the model, as it did the Nursing Department's Mission, Vision, and Philosophy.

Patient-focused care is the LC Professional Practice Model which places the patient at the center of all concerns. The patient is the authority for care received and the core of nursing practice is the caring relationship with the patient. This relationship informs and guides nursing practice.

Components of Our Professional Practice Model

The PPM at LC is comprised of five components:

  1. Core Values
  2. Professional Relationships
  3. Patient Care Delivery Model
  4. Recognition and Reward
  5. Leadership/Governance Structure 

    Lahey Clinic Professional Practice Model for Nursing